Tailor-made tours
News & Special Offers
Contact us

+7 499 653-90-19

Request a callback

Please leave your contact details
and we will get back in touch with you.

Your name



Border zones of the North Caucasus

Collective permit for border zone of North Ossetia, issued in June 2017.

Huge territories surrounding the Russian border (we have a really long border!) are considered “border zones”. Foreigners can visit these areas only if they have speсial permits. Territories of the North Caucasus bordering with Abkhazia, Georgia, South Ossetia and Azerbaijan are not exceptions. That is why, if you are planning to visit the most spectacular mountains and landmarks of the North Caucasus which are close to the border, you must have a permit. If you take part in our tours, we will apply for you and do all of the work.

You cannot get one permit for all North Caucasus border zones. If you are planning to visit border zones in several areas of the Russian Federation – Dagestan, Chechnya, Ingushetia, North Ossetia, Kabardino-Balkaria, Karachaevo-Cherkessia, Krasnodarskiy Krai – you will have to get permits for each region of the Federation separately.

How do you get a border zone permit? You have to fill in this form and send it to the regional office of the Border Guard Service (everything must be in Russian!). You must also attach scans of your passport and your Russian visa to the email. The list of contacts of the offices can be found here.

Good news – the application and permit are free of charge. Bad news – it takes up to 60 days to get a border zone permit.